You are a child of God

‘He said to me, “Solomon your son is the one who will build my house and my courts, for I have chosen him to be my son, and I will be his father.”’ 1 Chronicles 28.6

I wonder what Solomon thought as he listened to his father David proclaiming that God had chosen Solomon to be his son, and that God would be his father?  It must have given him so much confidence to know that he had been chosen by God himself for the job he was about to undertake.

The truth is that we are not so very different, and we too can have this same confidence in the situations in which God has put us.  Paul wrote that we are chosen and adopted (Ephesians 1.4-5) and Jesus said that he came so that we might know the love of God just as he knew it (John 17.26).  It is as if God says to each of us personally, “You are my beloved child, I take pleasure in you.”

Take a moment to hear these words spoken over you.  It is not wishful thinking because the Bible reveals it to be true: ‘I am his beloved child and he takes pleasure in me.’

Leave a Reply

