Setting God before us

‘I have set the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.’ Psalm 16.8

This verse is a powerful help to us in difficult times and it is particularly helpful if we work backwards through the phrases.  The very fact that the author writes about being shaken means that he is experiencing some difficulty, and many of us can identify with this; it may well be that you really need God’s divine touch in some aspect of your life.  Sometimes our need can cause us to doubt his love, and yet we desperately do not want to lose sight of this – we want to stand firm.  So how can we stand firm and not be shaken?

Our ability to do this is based on the knowledge that God is with us; he is at our ‘right hand’.  Whatever we are going through – whether it be sickness, hardship or worry – knowing that he is actually with us changes our outlook and expectation.  It is when we cannot find him that helplessness can set in.  So how do we find God?  David’s answer is quite clear – set him before you!

It is not that David is ‘making up’ a sense of the presence of God, but rather that he is so convinced of God’s presence with him that he can, with great ease, imagine God there – because he is.  This was not David doing some imaginative exercise, but rather him tuning into the reality of God being there with him.

Take a moment to set the Lord before you.  Where is he for you? How would you describe his presence with you? Enjoy him.

2 thoughts on “Setting God before us

  1. This made me think and imagine where the Lord that I chat to throughout the day actually is ‘set’ These words made me stop and imagine Jesus and ‘see’ him coming to me and pulling up a chair where I was sitting at my computer, putting His arm around my shoulders His eyes looking at what I was looking at and His words speaking to me. Some days the ‘God I set before me’ is my friend Jesus who has always been there since I was a child. Other days it is God my Heavenly Father who I imagine running to and falling on my knees before Him only to find that He lifts me up and takes my hand and pulls me to sit on His knee as I become a child in His presence. But the times I feel He is going to judge me or the times when I do not feel close to Him for whatever reason, these times I cannot ‘put Him before me’ and at these times I avoid Him and busy myself with other things. Then, He usually comes and finds me!

Leave a Reply

