Listening to God through creation

‘The Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground – trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food.’ Genesis 2.9

It is a lovely thought that God creates things that are pleasing to the eye.  No wonder creation can so often lead us to him, whether it be through the splendour of a glorious sunset or something much smaller.  Julian of Norwich contemplated God through a hazelnut!

When you next find your attention turning to something in creation, whether big or small, you may find it helpful to reflect on some of the following thoughts:

Why did this scene or detail attract my attention?
As I look at it, what does it tell me about God?
What aspect of his character does it suggest to me?
Does this say anything about me in relation to God?
What can I take into my day from this?

You may think that you are not very good at hearing God speak.  This may be true, but it is likely it says more about your listening than God’s speaking.  He may well speak frequently but you are not attuned to hearing his voice.  Listening to the voice of God in creation is one way in which you can begin to hear him speak, and in this way you will be drawn closer to him.

One thought on “Listening to God through creation

  1. Penny Weisweiller

    This is precious truth. The lavishness of Father God’s love reflected in His creation. I’ve found this particularly, personally true. Having had ME, on days when I was weakest and unable to get out of my flat, through the windows I’d be blessed by observing the seasonal changes in the cherry trees; by watching the magpies build their nest there; by enjoying the goldfinches who came to bathe in the puddles on the flat roof outside my kitchen window. Even when I couldn’t jump on the outside, these things have helped me to jump with joy on the inside. For me, this has all been part of God’s strategy to nurture a thankful heart and bring His healing to my body, soul and spirit. Nothing compares!!!

Leave a Reply

